Skip to Content

Get Vaccinated/Tested

Lee Health is now vaccinating anyone age 12+. Click to schedule for age 18+, click for age 12-17 or click for 3rd dose.

Click here for a list of COVID testing sites in our community.

Default Alt Text for the banner

Scott Nygaard

Chief Operating Officer, Lee Health

Scott Nygaard, M.D., MBA

Leadership Responsibilities

Dr. Scott Nygaard's responsibilities include the operations of ambulatory services within Lee Health.

He is responsible for the operations of Lee Physician Group, a 560-provider, multispecialty group practice; all hospital contracted physician groups, quality and patient safety for the health system; continuum of care services (e.g. Rehabilitation Hospital, HealthPark Care & Rehabilitation Center, Home Health, Home Infusion, Access Medical, Care Transitions); Outpatient Services (lab, imaging, wound care, sleep lab, rehabilitation services), and the systems managed care strategy.

Professional Experience

Dr. Nygaard joined Lee Health in September 2010. Before joining Lee Health, Dr. Nygaard served as the senior vice president for Corporate Services at Via Christi Health System in Wichita, Kan., where he had responsibility for Human Resources, Supply Chain, Quality, Outreach Services, Legal Services, Compliance, Information Technology and physician relations. He also served at Affinity Health System in Appleton, Wis., where he served as the CMO responsible for Affinity Medical Group (a 230-physician multispecialty group practice), community physician relations and medical management for Network Health Plan.

Dr. Nygaard graduated from the University of Iowa, where he completed training in internal medicine in 1990 and completed fellowship training in pulmonary and critical care medicine in 1993.


Dr. Nygaard is a Minnesota native who received his Bachelor of Science from Hamline University, St. Paul, Minn. He attended medical school at the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, and graduated in 1987. He also earned a master's degree in business administration from the University of St. Thomas, Minneapolis, in 2004.